NaNo style writing challenge – week 3

National Novel Writing Month Style Challenge

Well, I don’t know how anyone else is faring but yesterday was the last day of week three of my self-imposed NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) style writing challenge. It is a bit different, because I’m doing 40K words over circa 6.5 weeks rather than 50K over 4 weeks..and for everyone else doing the official NaNo thing, yesterday was Day 1 for them (not day 21 as for me)..but it’s going okay – surprisingly!

I must admit that it does take discipline and there are some days that I would rather pull out my teeth without anaesthetic than write anything, but if I can overcome that feeling and avoid the need to read anything from the previous day, then I can do it. In fact, I am gratified to report that I have achieved 38% of my target word count so far, so am generally on track. And from my general feel for it, the quality of it is not too bad; that is, I don’t think that it’s all tosh!

I have had to alter my writing schedule as I’ve increased my hours at work and my brain is mush by the time that I’ve put in a full day and then sorted the kids etc. so at the moment I’m getting up at 5:45 a.m. and writing for an hour first thing. We’ll see how long I can sustain it..hmmm..

Anyway, for anyone doing NaNo, you may like this fab video clip currently doing the rounds on You Tube- hilarious!

Good luck to all of you taking part in NaNoWriMo – and to anyone else out there trying to get pen to paper/finger to keypad etc

Take Care, Nikki

2 thoughts on “NaNo style writing challenge – week 3

    1. Hi Talli..aww thanks!

      I just got an email from Amazon telling me that I may want to pre-order The Hating Game from them. How excited you must be…eek! And yes I will be, just waiting for pay day! Nikki

Leave a Reply

