Nano Style Challenge, Snow, Xmas and the New Year

Snow fight near Park Royal, London!
Regent Street at Christmas

Well it’s been a while..I must confess that work, the ridiculous mayhem caused by the snow (cue a mammoth four and a half hour journey to London – yes that was one way – for our annual Xmas family trip) along with prep for Christmas, rather overtook writing throughout the month of December, and I have admittedly neglected my blog, among other things, but.. hey, I’m back and raring to go.

So I hope that you all had a very Merry Christmas, got what you wanted and are looking forward to the New Year. Let’s hope that 2011 brings lots of writing success for everyone, aspiring authors and published alike!

National Novel Writing Month Style Challenge - Complete!

The good news is that I completed the NaNo style writing challenge that I set for myself in October/November. Getting up at 5.45 a.m. every morning to write to my daily target, I managed to write 40,000 words in just over 6 weeks. The bad news is that despite that, I didn’t complete the MS.

BUT..it isn’t far off.

The other bit of bad news is that I have suffered from something that other writers often talk about, procrastination. I haven’t written a word since 7th December – I’ve had so much going on this month that writing just..ground to a halt. It was as if once the self imposed boundaries I’d set myself dropped away on 30th November, I lost momentum. However I have learned some valuable lessons about writing (and life)  from the challenge:-

1) I write best in the morning, before the children and hubby get up and badger me for tea/breakfast/uniform/lunchboxes/ties/suit jackets etc etc

2) It’s okay not to read the work of the day before, and to simply plow on with the next 1000 words. In the words of Nike; Just Do It!

3) It’s okay not to edit or think too much about plotting/characterisation/pacing. Again..Just Do It. Get the words down on the page; worry about the rest later (and yes, you do have to worry about it eventually; don’t think that when you finish it, that’s it, it’s over..you will have to edit, refine, polish etc. but that can wait!)

4) I love to write and I shouldn’t need a challenge to enable me to do it. I can do it, I just need to focus, focus, focus!

5) The more you do it, the easier it gets. At least, it does for me.

Well done Talli!

On another note, a big congratulations to debut author Talli Roland whose Blogsplash I supported (with hundreds of other fellow followers) for her new release The Hating Game . It hit  #24 on Amazon UK Paid Kindle Bestsellers on its release day – fantastic!

Shortlisted for the People's Book Prize

Also, a big congrats to my aunt, Sue Moorcroft whose latest book Want to Know a Secret? has been shortlisted for the People’s Book Prize, which is voted for by the public..details at this link if you feel like taking a look  http://www.peoplesbookprize.com/index.htm she just shows that perserverence pays..something all writers should have a lot of.

So, some writerly new years resolutions coming up in a few days time, but for now I will simply say, enjoy the festive season and happy writing.

All the best, Nikki.

2 thoughts on “Nano Style Challenge, Snow, Xmas and the New Year

  1. Congratulations on a fantastic nano achievement; it takes some dedication to do that, especially when you’re juggling with the demands of work and family. Here’s wishing you a successful and happy New Year.

  2. Thanks Chris, may your writing success continue to grow. Thanks for all your support; you have mine. Happy 2011..

Leave a Reply

