Writing – putting in the time..

This weekend we spent most of our time gardening, and staining our decking, fences and the pub (you may remember from a post that I put up a few months ago that the in-laws had a pub at the end of their garden, something I was aspiring to, so we went out and got a second-hand summer house and did it up – so we now have our own pub, albeit on a much smaller scale).

 

Anyway, the point is that the gardening and staining was hot, sticky, hard work and our muscles are now aching. I would much rather have been down the beach, seeing as I live on the Dorset coast – BUT, my hubby and I decided that we’d do it anyway; we wanted to be able to enjoy our garden over the Summer (what little we have in the UK, though it does seem to be shaping up to be quite promising this year)  – so it was worth giving up other activities and devoting time to it. And it was worth it. We now have a much tidier and visually appealing garden and we can sit in it quite happily and relax.

As I worked on the decking, paint spattered and wielding my roller, it reminded me of writing. Writing is hard work. You have to physically sit down and write…and write and write and write. Your back aches and your neck aches and your fingers cramp up and you wonder why you’re sat in a room on your own mouthing the words of people who only exist in your head. It often means giving things up – in my case; sleep, TV, online shopping and social time.

There are lots of people who say they could write a book, but until someone actually sits down and writes one, is committed enough to sacrifice other activities to hammer out the beginning, middle and end, and re-draft and polish and put it away and bring it back out and polish it again, quite frankly they don’t know what they’re talking about (perhaps I’m being harsh..?)

What I’m trying to say here is..if you love to write, then make the time to do it, no matter how hard it is. If you love to write, like me, then you won’t have wasted your time; it will have been worth the things you’ve missed to do it…and if you ever find the courage to send your work out and someone likes it enough to publish it, then for me, that is the icing on the cake…

Put in the time – and keep on writing.

Take care, Nikki.

3 thoughts on “Writing – putting in the time..

  1. I really like your thoughts here! And no, I don’t think you’re being harsh about what real writing is – you certainly are expressing my experience. I found your blog by looking up “wanna-be” writers (a title which applies to me, for sure!) and I look forward to reading more of your posts!

    1. Hi Gretchen, thanks for your comment.

      Have had a look at your blog too…it’s got a lovely clean, visually appealing look, and some interesting thoughts, so I’ve subscribed. Always nice to hear from another ‘pre-published’ writer, a title coined by a fellow member of the Romantic Novelists Association. I think it’s got a great ring to it!

      Happy to email ‘off blog’ too.

      All the best, Nikki.

  2. Thanks for your kind remarks! Yes, pre-published is a good, positive view! It’s such a LONG process…but I’m excited to be on the journey!

    I love being in touch with people overseas – and I’m jealous of your location! I’ve been to England twice and I loved it. Was actually at Heathrow in February for long enough to RUN from one gate to the next. (No, I’m not counting that as one of my two times!!) It was so hard to fly AWAY from what I knew to be a wonderful place. Hopefully one of these years I’ll be able to return…OH, and I’m looking into business cards, too, thanks to your thoughts!!

Leave a Reply

