Novelicious Top 20!

When I posted a competition round-up toward the end of March about comps that were ending soon, I never dreamed that I would be saying a few weeks later that I am a finalist in one of them! Yes, I’m in the Novelicious Undiscovered Top 20, and it doesn’t feel real. I am filled with excitement and nerves equally, which I’m sure will only get worse as Novelicious post the entries on their site over the month of May and when public (yes, public, eek!) voting starts on 5 June. For more details here you go:

http://www.novelicious.com/2012/04/novelicious-undiscovered-the-top-20.html

I have been incredibly touched by the amount of support I have had from writing buddies, family and friends on Twitter, Facebook, text etc and I feel very lucky to have people like that in my life. I have to give a special shout out to my Aunt Sue (Moorcroft) who was straight on the PR trail as soon as I told her!

I have some great company in the Top 20, including fellow RNA New Writer Scheme Members Celia and Jan, and have made a point of seeking other finalists out to congratulate them and offer my best wishes. Of course I would love to be in the top 3 (there are two awards up for grabs plus a runner-up spot) but just being a finalist is absolutely fantastic. It makes it worth getting up at 6.00 a.m. to write for an hour before sorting the kids out and going to work, and missing out on TV in the evenings to write for another couple of hours. Above all, I love to write and it makes me happy. Being in the Top 20 validates those feelings and makes me feel I’m not wasting my time.

Congratulations to anyone who entered this competition – it is hard to put your writing out there knowing that it’s going to be scrutinised – and my sincerest good luck to the other 19 on the list. It’s going to be a whirlwind I’m sure!

Happy writing, Nikki 🙂

2 thoughts on “Novelicious Top 20!

Leave a Reply

