Writing, Work and Wine with… Talli Roland

Talli Roland writes fun, romantic fiction. Born and raised in Canada, Talli now lives in London, where she savours the great cultural life (coffee and wine). Despite training as a journalist, Talli soon found she preferred making up her own stories–complete with happy endings. Talli’s debut novel The Hating Game was short-listed for Best Romantic Read at the UK’s Festival of Romance, while her second, Watching Willow Watts, was selected as an Amazon Customer Favourite. Her novels have also been chosen as top books of the year by industry review websites and have been bestsellers in Britain and the United States. Construct A Couple is her latest release.

Q. Hi Talli, great to have you here, thanks for stopping in. Can you start by telling us about your writing

A. I’m unagented, have been published since 2009 and write light women’s fiction (aka chick lit). My novels are generally around eighty-thousand words in length. Although they have an element of romance, they focus mainly on the heroine’s journey. I have two non-fiction and two fiction books published by Prospera Publishing. I’ve also self-published two novels.

Q. I think self-publishing is very brave and I’ve heard that it takes an enormous amount of hard work in terms of promo; something you are fantastic at, if the results of some of your blog splashes etc are anything to go by. Self-publishing has obviously worked for you with your impressive results! Can I ask, what are your most memorable writing successes and rejections so far? 

A. My most memorable success has to be when I signed my first publishing contract. Even though it was for non-fiction and ultimately I wanted to write fiction, I was thrilled to get my foot on the ladder. But as for rejections, oh, sigh! Do I have to relive this? Well, a publisher was very enthusiastic about my MS. They asked me to revise, I did, and then waited months, and months, and months… only to have it rejected.

Q. Well it seems you’ve left that kind of experience behind you! Can you tell us what your top three tips for writers are?

  1. Don’t wait for ‘the muse’. Set a schedule and stick to it.
  2. When you’re writing the first draft, don’t worry about making it perfect. I think first drafts should be crap!
  3. Keep writing. It’s the only way to get better.

Q. Some really sound advice, thanks. So, tell us about your work. Do you have a day job or do you write full-time? And what do you love and hate about it? 

A. I’m very lucky that I’m able to write full-time.  My typical day is that I get up quite early, hop on Twitter and Facebook while I drink my coffee and wake up, and by seven, I’m at my desk. I write until noon, when I take a break. Depending on the day, I’ll either continue writing or spend the afternoon blogging, answering emails, and doing any other promotional tasks that crop up.

I love the control I have over my time; the fact that I’m working for me – and at something I love! I’m struggling with whether there is anything about it I hate! To be honest, writing full-time is my dream job, and I couldn’t be happier. I’m aware this is a very lame answer, but it’s true.

Q. Good for you, I love that you’re living the dream. Now to finish, tell us what your favourite Wine is. 

A. Ooh, I love this question! Without a doubt, Merlot and Pinot Grigio. Yum!

 I’m a Pinot Grigio girl myself! Thanks for your time and good luck with Construct a Couple. Build a Man was my favourite book by you so far, so I’m looking forward to rejoining Serenity and Jeremy on their adventures. 

To learn more about Talli, go to http://www.talliroland.com or follow Talli on Twitter: @talliroland. Talli blogs at talliroland.blogspot.com. Her books are available to buy on Amazon Kindle, Amazon UK www.amazon.co.uk and The Book Depository http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/. The kindle edition of Construct a Couple is available to buy now on Amazon for a bargain 99p!

Look out for the next guest post out on Tuesday 26 June – Writing, Work and Wine With… Jill McDonald-Constable a.k.a Amos Carr

And the last time I’ll mention this I swear. Voting for the Novelicious Undiscovered competition closes tomorrow so please do pop in, read the entries and cast a vote (http://www.novelicious.com/voting2012undiscovered.html)

Happy writing, Nikki 🙂

5 thoughts on “Writing, Work and Wine with… Talli Roland

  1. Hi Talli, just realised you left a comment! Apologies.
    Happy to have you on here and great talk about social media and marketing at the RNA Conference 2012.
    Take care, Nikki 🙂

  2. Hi Sharon, thank you for stopping by.
    Look out for more in the Writing, Work and Wine With… series, coming soon.
    Happy writing, Nikki 🙂

Leave a Reply

