Writing, Work and Wine With … Tanith Davenport

Tanith Davenport has been writing for ten years and first got into erotic romance through the Romantic Novelists’ Association New Writer’s Scheme. Besides writing, her first loves are rock music and travel. She lives in Yorkshire with her long-suffering husband and cat.

Q. Hi Tanith, glad you could join us and congratulations on the nomination for the RNA’s Joan Hessayon Award, something  I aspire to myself one day! So, can you tell us about your writing?

A. I’m a published erotic romance author, writing both novel-length and short stories. My first novel “The Hand He Dealt” was published last year by Total-e-Bound and since then I have had three short stories accepted for anthologies with TEB, House of Erotica and Naughty Nights Press. As yet I don’t have an agent – I haven’t needed one.

My next release will be “I Like It Wet”, which is due out as part of the anthology “Smut by the Sea” in September. 

Q. Congratulations on the success so far. I see that Lucy Felthouse is co-editor  for the anthology; I had the pleasure of meeting her at last year’s Festival of Romance (tickets available for the 2012 FoR now!) So can you share with us your most memorable writing successes? And your most memorable rejection?

A. “The Hand He Dealt” was shortlisted for the Joan Hessayon Award, which was quite gratifying.

I would say that my favourite rejection was from Loose Id. Most publishers simply replied with “not for us”, but Loose Id sent a long email explaining what they liked and why they couldn’t accept it.

Q. Very nice of them to take the time… So, do you have any writing tips for us?

1) Finish the book

2) Don’t worry about what’s fashionable – write what feels good

3) If at all possible, don’t restrict yourself by length – the advantage of e-publishing is that you can write short stories as well and build up a catalogue.

 Q. Thanks, some good advice – no. 3 has given me something to think about! Right, tell us about your work. Do you have a day job? And what do you love or hate about it?

A. I would love to write full-time, but sadly that’s not possible yet. I work as an administrator in a university, so essentially I work at a computer from 9 to 5 and then come home and sit at the computer again! I always try to do 500 words a day and limit my time so that I don’t sit staring at the screen for hours on end.

I love working in admin – I like to organise, to write reports and to manage my students, but sometimes they really do drive me to a glass of wine when I get home!

Q.  Your last answer fits perfectly in with my last question! Tell us what your favourite wine is.

A. I have two favourites. If I’m in a “dry” mood, I love a good vinho verde. If I’m feeling sweet, I drink plum wine. You can’t beat it.

Thanks so much for stopping by Tanith and good luck with your future writing career.

If you would like to find out more about Tanith you can find her author page on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/#!/TanithDavenport or her blog is at http://www.tanithdavenport.blogspot.co.uk/ or you can follow her on Twitter at @TanithDavenport

To buy The Hand He Dealt you can either go to http://www.amazon.com/The-Hand-He-Dealt-ebook/dp/B005LVXEH4 or the Total-E-Bound website http://www.total-e-bound.com/product.asp?P_ID=1244

The erotic short story anthology Smut by the Sea is available via http://www.amazon.co.uk/Smut-Sea-Absolute-Erotica-ebook/dp/B008VUBYG0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1345272889&sr=8-1.

Happy Writing everyone, look out for another Writing, Work and Wine With… guest post next Wednesday.

Nikki.

2 thoughts on “Writing, Work and Wine With … Tanith Davenport

Leave a Reply

