Do you NaNoWriMo? (National Novel Writing Month)

There’s a great article about National Novel Writing Month in November’s issue of Writing Magazine, with some great tips on how to get through the challenge of writing a 50,000 word novel in one month (see www.writers-online.co.uk for more details on the article). It made me ask myself a question.

Will I take part in NaNoWriMo this year?

There are lots of reasons why I should – it’s a great motivational tool, you write as part of a community with a fab support network, forums etc, it’s a fantastic accomplishment – but there is one big reason why I won’t.

You have to start from scratch.

I’ve just checked the website (see www.nanowrimo.org) and the rules – not that there are many- are clear; entrants are not allowed to use WIP’s, the 50,000 words must be the beginning of an entirely new novel.

Now I have two works in progress at the moment – The Nanny’s Revenge (which I blogged about for The Next Big Thing on 10 October) and Random Acts – and I have no wish to start another. Not that I don’t have lots of other book ideas in my head, I do, and I actually have a few of those outlines down on paper, but the point is, I want to finish these two before I start something else.

By being really strict with myself I have managed to write 20,000 words of Random Acts in the last six weeks around a full time job, kids, housework, hubby, pets etc the usual stuff that we all juggle. This brings my total to 50,000 words, with 50,000 more still to go.

So I am going to do my own NaNoWriMo challenge, as I did a couple of years ago. I am going to aim to finish Random Acts by 30 November and I will track it with a word counter on this page (if I can remember how to!) so I won’t be on the NaNoWriMo site but I will be quietly working away behind the scenes.

That means there won’t be any Writing, Work and Wine With… guest author posts until December, in fact I will be taking a complete break from blogging during November. I hope you’ll bear with me!

Good luck to everyone who is taking part in NaNoWriMo or their own verson, such as the Romaniacs with their 30,000 word challenge at http://theromaniacgroup.wordpress.com/2012/10/22/ready-steady-write/

Happy writing, Nikki.

3 thoughts on “Do you NaNoWriMo? (National Novel Writing Month)

  1. I’m glad that you’re able to make NaNoWriMo work for you. I’m doing it because I need the push. I think there’s a good chance that I have ADD, so sitting down and coming up with a plot has been really difficult for me and I am constantly changing my mind when I am able to come up with something. I decided that I wanted to do it about a week before the start date and had only a miniscule idea that I wanted to build a plot around. Well, I didn’t really sit down and begin to work on the plot until last night and for once I made some real progress! I was actually able to work for an hour straight and came up with a chunk of the plot. I still have a lot of work to do on it, but I think that I will have enough to be able to start on November 1. 😀

Leave a Reply

