Writing, Work and Wine with… Louise Rose-Innes

Louise RI PhotoAccording to my guest this week, she lives between two worlds…

The most fascinating by far is the world of successful, adventurous men and beautiful, feisty women, of exotic locations and passionate romance. She loves to travel and is fascinated by interesting destinations that influence the characters or contribute to the conflict of the story in some way. She also loves to make her readers smile and seldom features anything overtly dark or disturbing. She’s a happy-ending kind of gal, so romance is the perfect genre for her.

Q. Welcome Louise, great to have you here. And what a lovely romantic name for a romance author… So, firstly, can you tell us more about your writing?

A. I’ve been writing stories since high school, but it’s only in the last few years that I’ve started taking it seriously. My first novel was an adventure romance, called The Antarctic Affair, which I self published five years ago, before the internet revolution in publishing. It was a trial and error process, and I’ve since re-published it more professionally.

My current release, The Italian Inheritance, reached the Top 10 on Amazon UK in its first month, which was a fabulous surprise. It gave me the motivation I needed to carry on crafting entertaining romances. It’s a wonderful feeling knowing people are downloading and reading your book – and enjoying it!The-Italian-Inheritance-full-size-bestseller-logo-212x300

I don’t have an agent, since it doesn’t seem necessary at this point in my career. As I go further down the road I will probably get an agent to help me.

I write mainly contemporary romance, but have recently branched into romantic suspense, something I’ve always wanted to try. The manuscript which I wrote during National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) last year has just been snapped up by Entangled Publishing and I’m excited to announce is due to be released later this year. Personal Assistance is a special ops adventure with lots of simmering passion, betrayal and finally love.

I’ve been rejected many times, and I cringe at the thought of some of the manuscripts I submitted when I first started out. But I’ve learned from every one of them, and those that offered advice I took seriously and tried to implement in my work. Writing is a constant learning curve.

Q. A great story about perseverance, and I was thrilled for you when you told me about the Entangled deal. Would you share your top three tips for writers with us?

1) Read as much as you can, not for enjoyment, but to learn. Look at how other authors handle style, sentence structure and pace.

2) Keep writing. With every manuscript your writing improves.

3) Never give up! Perseverance pays off in the end. You will get there. It just takes time.

Antarctic-Affair-Louise-Rose-Innes-212x300Q. Fabulous tips, thanks. I do agree that to be a good writer you need to read voraciously and regularly, but for me it’s in two ways; from the perspective of a reader being entertained and as a writer to learn the craft. So, what about your work? Do you have a day job or write full-time? What’s a typical day for you? What do you love (and hate) about it?

A. I’m a freelance web copywriter, so I work from home. I divide my time between writing romance and web copywriting – although not always evenly. As I become more successful I find myself writing more and freelancing less – as it should be!

I love spending my mornings crafting novels, developing characters and plotting journeys that will change their lives forever. Then in the afternoons I spend time with my child, taking him to extra murals and doing homework etc. It’s the perfect work/home balance.

My only problem with being a writer is that it’s a fairly unsociable profession. If I don’t force myself to go out, I can quite happily seclude myself from the world for days. So making sure I see friends and get out there is important for me, or else I become a bit of a hermit.

Q. Sounds like a fantastic working day. It can be easy to get so involved in your own world that you forget there’s a real world out there. Glad you pop out occasionally! Lastly, tell us what your favourite wine is.

A. I love a glass of chardonnay (preferably a South African vintage) in the evenings to unwind, but I never drink more than that, as it affects my ability to concentrate the next morning. I’m very conscious of my limited writing time, and so I don’t want to do anything to jeopardise that.

Special occasions are, well… special occasions and the normal rules don’t apply. 🙂

Well, any excuse for a celebration…! Thanks for stopping by and good luck with your new release later this year.

The Italian Inheritance, about an orphaned English woman who discovers she’s heir to a vast Italian fortune, is available from Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk as are Louise’s other books.

Visit Louise’s website at www.louiseroseinnes.com

In addition to writing romance, Louise publishes a blog called http://marketingforromancewriters.com/ covering subjects such as Social Networking, SEO, Self-Publishing and Promotion. She also blogs for SavvyAuthors.com, where she discusses everything from online marketing techniques to self-promotion and webPR.

Thanks for stopping by, hope you enjoyed the post. Look out for more author posts coming soon. For now, happy writing everyone, Nikki x

Leave a Reply

