Writing, Work and Wine with… Julie Day

Julie Day 3My guest this week was born and worked in South East London as an administrator for 20 years but now writes full-time. Writing romance and children’s books, she belongs to the Romantic Novelists’ Association, the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and the Society of Authors.

I’m pleased to welcome self-published author Julie Day to my blog for this week’s guest post.

Q. Welcome Julie. Can you start off by telling us a bit about your writing?

A. The genres I write are YA fantasy and adult romance. They are both series. The YA ones are called ‘The Guardian Angels’ and the adult ones are called ‘Geraldine’s Gems’. The YA ones are targeted for teens/young adults, and the adult romances are geared towards adults who like sweet romances with a touch of magic and humour to them. To date I have released two Young Adult short ebooks and a short story, and three adult romances. I am unagented but it’s not for want of trying. I have been trying to get an agent for my younger children’s fiction but seem to get the same reply, ‘Like the idea, but not strong enough for the current market’.

I’ve had reader letters published in magazines and short stories published in small press magazines over the years. Then in 2009 I had my first children’s book published. I tried and tried to get an agent/publisher for my children’s stories but with no luck. Then last year I kept reading how writers were having luck with self-publishing ebooks and decided to give it a go myself. I love the control of self-publishing ebooks that I’m not sure now if I really want to get an agent or publisher and have to wait and wait for answers and deadlines and being published.

Q. Getting an agent is notoriously difficult at the moment, so we all feel for you! And what about your most memorable writing successes and rejections?

A. My most memorable writing success was my first published article. I had a ‘Viewpoint’ column published in a magazine called The Lady back in 1999 and was paid £25 for it. Seeing my name in a magazine was a buzz. Still is. In terms of rejections? All the ones I got for my second tween children’s book, which is yet to be published. Again I got the same comments as above from agents.

Q. Have you got any tips you want to share with us?

1) Persevere. Never give up. There are always choices

2) Seek out those choices and investigate.

3) Read, read and read. Both fiction and non-fiction and learn from what you read.

Q. Tell us about your work? Do you have a day job or write full-time? What’s a typical day for you? What’s the best – and worst – part?

A. I’m a full-time writer. My typical day is pottering around the house in the morning, and going on the internet to check emails for a while. In the afternoon I watch a bit of tv after lunch, write/type current project for half an hour, then on the internet for another half an hour, then read my Kindle for half an hour (non-fiction then fiction). Then I might have a nap for a while! My favourite bit of my time is writing/typing current wip as it takes me out of any hassles and bothers in my home life. Hated bit is filing and tidying.

Julie Day 1

Q. And your favourite drink / wine?

A. My fave drink is actually pineapple juice!

Thanks for stopping in Julie and I wish you all the best with your self-pubbed titles.

To find out more about Julie you can go to her blog at http://julieaday.blogspot.co.uk or find her at Facebook on http://www.facebook.com/julie.day.35 on Twitter @juliedayauthor. You can buy her books via her website at http://www.julieaday.co.uk/

That’s all for now… but I’ll be back soon with a Writing, Work and Wine guest post with prolific author Nell Dixon.

Happy writing, Nikki x

3 thoughts on “Writing, Work and Wine with… Julie Day

  1. mrscarlielee says:

    What a great post! I’ve just come fresh from the London Book Fair, where I was hearing again and again that some sort of self-publishing was the ideal way to pick up the interest of traditional publishers.
    Well done to Julie – I’m absolutely positive that setting up a readership is the best thing to do, regardless of whether she’s eventually picked up by a big house or not.

    Thanks both, and best of luck to Julie 🙂

  2. nikkigoodman says:

    Hi Carlie,

    thanks for popping in and leaving a comment. I’m sure Julie will be appreciative of it. I do think it takes a special blend of skills and bravery to self-publish. I might get there myself at some point!

    Interesting to hear the views from LBF on self-publishing; I’ve had mixed feedback on that one, with some people saying it’s still better to pursue tradiitonal publishing first and others saying that promising sales on self-pubbed titles can help leap past the slush pile straight to a deal. I think we’ll have to reserve judgement for a while yet.

    Wish I could have been at LBF… maybe next year!

    Warmest regards, Nikki x

    • mrscarlielee says:

      Heya Nikki,

      LBF definitely worth a visit! I was very grumpy at the idea of self publishing (my Writing Angel suggested it), but I’ve totally changed my mind. Also, I met Luigi Bonomi at the LBF (literary agent), and he suggested self publishing novellas and short stories, to help build an audience. If the publisher can see an indication of market, it makes them much more open to the idea of considering submissions.

      Anyway, with that in mind, I thought I’d give it a go with a novella, and golly it was easy. I went with Kindle (as I already had an Amazon account), and it took me about 20 minutes. The cover and blurb are pretty rubbish, and I’ve not tried out any promotion ideas yet, but I couldn’t believe how straight forward it was. I exist on Amazon!

      Awesome.

      Anyway, my thoughts now are I’d like to do both – achieve the dream of traditional publishing, but also chase the self-publishing route for experiments and shorts. Seriously, give it a go!

      Best,

      C

Leave a Reply

