Writing, Work and Wine with… Nell Dixon

Nell Dixon Author PicNell Dixon is a Black Country author, married to the same man for over twenty-eight years. She has three daughters, a tank of tropical fish and a cactus called Spike. Winner of the RNA’s prestigious Romance Prize in 2007 and 2010, she writes warm-hearted contemporary romance for a number of publishers in the US and the UK.

Q. Morning Nell, hope you’re well and thanks for joining me. So, can you tell us about your writing first? Who is your publisher? Do you have an agent? And what are your most memorable writing successes and rejections?

A. I write for Samhain Press, Astreaea Press and E-Scape Press and have been published by Mira, Headline, DC Thompson, Moonlit Romance, Freya’s Bower and Myrmiddon Press amongst others.

I write warm-hearted contemporary romance with a dash of suspense and a dollop of humour. Astraea Press publish my clean read books and shorter length stories and E-Scape publish my slightly steamier books. I also publish my longer length chick lit suspense titles through Brierley Rose Press.

I’ve just released my 21st title and my 22nd, a shorter story in a group anthology should be out soon.PHCover

I was agented by the fabulous Darley Anderson who remains a source of advice and support but with the change in markets I represent much of my work myself.

My most memorable writing successes were winning the Romantic Novelists Association Romance Prize. First with Marrying Max which was published by DC Thompson and then again with Animal Instincts published by Headline’s Little Black Dress imprint. Totally amazing each time and completely unexpected.

I was rejected by a US publisher who had read the first three chapters of a novel and then when I sent the full were totally taken aback by the fact that I was a UK author. They said they didn’t think US readers would understand terms like ‘carrier bags’.

My writing career is like a roller coaster, chugging along to the top of a mound then whee! Shooting off at speed before resuming the chugging along again.

Q. Thanks for your honesty – fascinating. Let’s hope your career is soon zipping up the tracks. And wow, Darley Anderson… I wish! Now, what about your top three top tips for writers? Any wisdom to share?

1. Read as much as you can.

2. Write, you are not a writer unless you are actually doing the bum in seat hands on keyboard bit.

3. Polish, polish and polish some more before you send out. Don’t rush it.

 Q. Great, thank you. What about your work. Do you have a day job or write full-time? What’s a typical day for you and what do you love and hate about your work?

A. I work in a job share for a disabled people’s charity managing a therapeutic horticulture project. I’m a registered nurse, midwife and health visitor and we work closely with public health.

A typical day sees me up early, I get the teenagers packed lunches ready and shoot off to the day job. When I’m there I have a mixed day. It could be meetings with schools, teaching kids, doing hands on garden things, writing bids. I get home early evening and cook supper then tackle my emails. I spend a little bit of time promoting then I try to get some writing done. I spend an hour or so talking to the teens before reading for a while and then its bed. In between all that I clean, do laundry and make time for all the other daily life stuff.

I love the variety of my day job and that what we do really makes a difference to people’s lives and health.

The part I hate is the constant struggle to raise funds for the project.

Q. Wow, that’s impressive. Are you Superwoman or something?  Lastly, tell us what your favourite wine is – you must need some after days like those?!

A. I like dry wines or a full-bodied red. I’m very fond of Chateau Neuf de Pape and I enjoy a good rose.

Thanks for stopping in Nell and good luck with Radio Gaga. Hope to see you at this year’s RNA conference.

RadioGaga 200x300

You can buy Nell Dixon’s books including Radio Gaga, her latest release at;

http://www.amazon.com/Radio-Gaga-ebook/dp/B00BK7TY7C/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_t_1_GS4P

And http://www.amazon.co.uk/Radio-Gaga-ebook/dp/B00BK7TY7C/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_t_2_6E46

And all other good e-tailers

If you want to find out more about Nell you can go to

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/nelldixonauthor

via Twitter – @NellDixon

On her blog – http://nelldixonrw.blogspot.co.uk/

Or visit her website at http://www.nelldixon.com

Well, that’s it for now, but look out for the competition round-up coming soon. Until then, Happy Writing, Nikki x

 

Leave a Reply

