A Write Success!

It's 2013!
Reason to Celebrate!

I’m sorry, but I just couldn’t resist that title!

Anyhow, I wanted to share my good news … 

I’ve been sitting on it for months, unable to say anything until everyone was on board and everything was signed (or pretty much). I broke the news initially on Twitter and Facebook last Friday but have had some very frustrating technical issues involving my laptop, broadband and WordPress since then. So, I am now standing up very publicly … drumroll and clash of cymbals and a sprinkling of star-dust please … to announce that …

My short story, A Night to Remember, has been accepted for publication in the forthcoming Romantic Novelists Association (RNA) anthology to be published by Harlequin next February (14). My story will appear in both the print and digital versions and I’ll be joined by some bestselling and award-winning authors, some of whom I’ve read and admired for years and some of whom I consider my buddies. Sending out my congratulations to all of them.

I’m beyond excited that my first writing contract is for the RNA anthology. Two reasons for that:-

1) The last anthology Loves Me, Loves Me Not, was gorgeous, packed full of fantastic short stories and sold really well (see the blog here http://rnaanthology.blogspot.co.uk). Just look at this cover!

20130827_201037

2) More importantly, because the RNA has given me so much over the last four years. Being part of the New Writers Scheme has meant I’ve received honest and constructive critiques from people who know what they’re talking about. I’ve also attended social and networking events and meetings where I’ve had invaluable advice and support from other writers and industry experts which has made me feel fuzzy and warm inside. And I’ve had feedback on manuscripts from agents and editors via one to one pitch meetings and the positive comments and request for more material has given me confidence in my writing and the will to keep going, where at times I’ve wondered if I could or should.

Getting this contract has proved to me that perseverance really is key. It really is the right submission (last August!) to the right person in the right place at the right time. So anyone out there doubting themselves – just keep going!

Thank you to the wonderful members and committee of the RNA. If you want to find out more about this fab organisation you can go to www.rna-uk.org

You can also see the press release about this anthology at the following location where yours truly is named as a debut author!

http://www.romanticnovelistsassociation.org/index.php/news/entry/rna_anthology_for_2014

That’s it for now …

Happy Writing everyone, Nikki 🙂

10 thoughts on “A Write Success!

  1. Sorry not to stop in sooner guys (busy,busy) but thanks Elle and Vikki for your kind words! Looking forward to publication date; lots of exciting things are going on behind the scenes at the mo!
    X

Leave a Reply

