Writing, Work and Wine with… Suzy Turner

Suzy Turner Author PicSuzy Turner has worked as a journalist, assistant editor, features editor and magazine editor. Early in 2010 however she began writing full-time and has since completed six books for young adults: The Raven Saga trilogy and The Morgan Sisters series and a chick lit novel, Forever Fredless.

Although Suzy is a Yorkshire lass at heart, she left her home town of Rotherham, UK, to move to Portugal with her family when she was ten. The Algarve continues to be her home, where she lives with her childhood sweetheart and husband of 15 years, Michael, their two neurotic dogs and a cat who thinks she’s a princess.

Q. Welcome Suzy, thanks for dropping in. I am so jealous of you living in Portugal. I hate winter and the temperature’s suddenly dropped. But enough of that. Can you tell us about your writing?

I have seven novels out in the world at the moment, all of which I published myself. After receiving several rejections from literary agents, a friend mentioned Amazon KDP and I haven’t looked back since! Although I do still think it would be nice to see what’s it’s like to be traditionally published.

My first six novels are in the YA urban fantasy genre, a genre I have a particular passion for – after my obsession with Harry Potter and Twilight. But chick lit is my first love and I knew one day I’d go back to it. A lot of my readers are adult women, which is great because I know they’ll love my chick lit books too 😀

After offering my first book, Raven, for free, it’s been downloaded probably well over 100,000 times which is amazing! I now have two other books which are also free – Daisy Madigan’s Paradise (a Morgan Sisters novella) and The Ghost of Josiah Grimshaw (a Morgan Sisters novel). Naturally, I’m hoping to equal the downloads!fredless_promo

Q. It’s lovely to have a self-published author drop in. It’s a rising trend and always interesting to hear about people’s experiences. 100,000 downloads – wow. Do you write full-time or have a day job alongside? Tell us about your work. What do you love and hate about it?

I used to work in the newspaper and magazine industry but I was made redundant a few years ago. Although it was upsetting at the time, it was the kick up the backside that I needed. I mean, look at me now, since then I’ve published seven books!

So now I tend to work (writing and marketing) for a couple of hours in the morning, followed by a few hours in the afternoon. It’s amazing how much time is taken up by promoting myself though. Sometimes I barely have time to write! I really need to re-work my writing/marketing schedule!

I absolutely love what I do, it’s my passion – not many people are lucky enough to be able to do what they love everyday but I have a very supportive husband 🙂

The only thing that’s tough about being an author is the editing – it gets very boring, re-reading the same piece of work over and over again, but it’s well worth the effort. I have a number of beta readers who help enormously and a fantastic editor too.

Q. Ooh lucky you, it sounds fantastic. Lastly then, tell us what your favourite wine is.

I live in Portugal which is renowned for its fantastic wines. I prefer white (hubby tells me I’m not very nice when I drink red wine!). One which is particularly delicious is called Planalto (dry white).

Sounds good to me – perhaps I can pop over for a glass at some point 🙂

You can buy Suzy’s books at

http://www.amazon.com/Suzy-Turner/e/B0050BSH1I/

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/suzyturner

http://www.kobobooks.com/search/search.html?q=%22Suzy+Turner%22&t=none&f=author&p=1&s=none&g=both

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Suzy-Turner

https://itunes.apple.com/ca/artist/suzy-turner/

You can also find out more about Suzy at www.suzyturner.com, www.fictiondreams.com  or via www.twitter.com/suzy_turner or www.facebook.com/suzyturnerbooks 

That’s it for now. Hope you’ve enjoyed meeting another fab author. I’m hoping to share some exciting news with you soon  – you’ll have to watch this space…

Until then, Happy Writing.

Nikki x

2 thoughts on “Writing, Work and Wine with… Suzy Turner

  1. Thank you so much for having me, Nikki! It’s been an absolute pleasure to be here 😀
    I’m actually quite jealous of you being where there’s been a drop in temperature… it’s still far too warm over here. I’m a winter girl myself and can’t wait for it to get cold so I can light up the fire burner! lol!
    Wanna swap? 😉
    xx

Leave a Reply

