New Release; New England Crush by Pia Fenton (aka Christina Courtenay)

 

NEC front Latest

Today I’m thrilled to host Pia Fenton/Christina Courtenay who writes historical romance, time slip and YA contemporary romance, all published by independent publisher Choc Lit.  She is half Swedish and was brought up in Sweden. In her teens, she moved to Japan where she had the opportunity to travel extensively in the Far East.  Christina is the current Chairman of the UK’s Romantic Novelists’ Association (RNA). Her novels Highland Storms and The Gilded Fan have both won the Romantic Novel Award (RoNA) for Best Historical Romantic Novel of the year (in 2012 and 2014 respectively).  Her latest novels are The Secret Kiss of Darkness (time slip), Monsoon Mists (historical romance) and New England Crush (YA)

Q. Great to have you here Pia. I’m really excited about this one because I read New England Rocks and loved it. I also have very happy memories of being a teenager 🙂  So, please tell us about your new release.

New England Crush, a self-published novel, is out on Kindle and in paperback on Amazon and is a contemporary YA story about a British girl who attends a U.S. high school for a year. She enjoys it more than she thought she would and everything would be perfect if she wasn’t crushing on the one boy she can’t have – a jock whose current girlfriend will fight for him by fair means or foul (well, mostly foul!)

Here’s the blurb…

 Crushing on the wrong boy – why does it feel so right?

Raven Mackenzie has finally settled into her posh British boarding school when her parents decide she has to attend an American high school for a year just because her older sister enjoyed it – so unfair!

 Being a newcomer is never easy, but to her surprise she’s befriended by a group of Goths.  She’s teased about her accent and English ways by others, but with the support of friends it’s easy to cope.  In fact, everything would be perfect if she wasn’t crushing on the one boy she can’t have – a jock whose current girlfriend will fight for him by fair means or foul (well, mostly foul!)

 Liam Donnelly is easy-going and has never given much thought to his friends’ cliquey behaviour. But when new girl Raven quite literally falls into his arms, and his friends do everything they can to keep them apart, he starts to wonder – what’s up with that?

Q. Is it part of a series? What inspired it?

It’s the second book in the Northbrooke High series and I’m working on the third one at the moment. The first book in the series was inspired by a high school reunion I went to a couple of years ago.  It really took me back to my teenage years and I realised there were things I would have loved to change about my time in high school (I went to an American high school for three years).  I’d also just started reading a lot of YA books and absolutely love them so I wanted to have a go myself.  It was huge fun!  As this series is contemporary, it gives me a break from research – normally I write historical romance which entails a lot of research.

Q. I think variety is great; when you work on something different, it can really bring you back refreshed to other types of writing. I’m also really pleased to hear there’s a third book to look forward to. Lastly, can you tell us one interesting fact about the book, yourself or any research you did for this book?

Sure. The hero and heroine of this book both ride dirt bikes and when I was a teenager I learned to ride a motorbike too.  I absolutely loved it but my parents were less enthusiastic so I never got one of my own…

Thanks for popping in Pia. I’ve already bought my copy of New England Crush and can’t wait to get started on it. I wish you every success with the series.

Thanks for having me Nikki 🙂

 

You can buy or pre-order New England Crush via Amazon;

Ebook:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/England-Crush-Northbrooke-High-Book-ebook/dp/B00OYLB636

Paperback:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/New-England-Crush-Northbrooke-High/dp/1503096351

You can find out more about Pia Fenton (who also writes as Christina Courtenay) at http://christinacourtenay.com or via Twitter on @PiaCCourtenay on or Facebook https://www.facebook.com/christinacourtenayauthor

 

Thanks for stopping by, hope you enjoyed this post and are having a fantastic break over Christmas 🙂

Until the next time, Happy Reading and Writing,

Love Nikki x

2 thoughts on “New Release; New England Crush by Pia Fenton (aka Christina Courtenay)

Leave a Reply

