Writing News & the Wonders of Promo

I thought I’d drop by with a proper update, seeing as I’ve been in the writing and editing cave for the last six weeks or so! I hope everyone’s good and enjoying 2015 so far. It’s been a busy one for me and I can’t believe it’s February already.

I’ve been ridiculously lucky recently in that some of my stories, or books I’m featured in, have been picked up in promos on the e-tailer sites.

Over November and December, the eBook version of the Harlequin Mills and Boon / RNA anthology Truly, Madly, Deeply featuring 35 short stories and with a new Christmassy cover was on sale on Amazon for only 59p. It hit the best-seller lists, including the Top 100 in fiction overall. Whoop-whoop, how amazing is that?! At the time of writing this post, it’s #2 in Saga’s, #4 in Romance and #24 in Romantic Comedies on Amazon UK. Big smiles all round. It costs a bankruptcy creating £1 now but if you fancy dishing out for it anyway you can get it here 🙂 http://www.amazon.co.uk/Truly-Madly-Deeply-Adele-Parks-ebook/dp/B00FBFJX52

TMD Christmas Cover

Then Skating at Somerset House, the first short story in the #LoveLondon series, was picked up by Kobo and put on their home page under eBook exclusive short stories. At one point it was sitting alongside stories by best-selling authors Andy McNab and Simon Scarrow. ‘Excited’ did not do justice as a description of the state I was in! I haven’t seen the royalty statement for SaSh for December yet so have no idea how many copies it’s sold, but at one point it was #37 in short stories out of circa 28,000 stories so I was pretty happy with that 🙂

Kobo Promo

And now I’ve just found out that Valentine’s on Primrose Hill, the third short story in the #LoveLondon series which is due out this coming Monday, has been picked up by Nook as part of their ‘Love on Sale’ promotion for 99p. Details at http://www.nook.com/gb/search?s%5Bcategory_id%5D=10000001097. I’m super grateful to whoever made that decision!

Nook Love on Sale Promo

I don’t know how it all works and I’m not sure I want to, however anything that gives my stories more exposure has to be good, right? And I don’t know how this promo will translate into sales but I’m looking forward to finding out – fingers crossed!

One thing I did see was sales for Crazy, Undercover, Love, my debut full-length book with HarperImpulse quadruple in December, so unless that’s a one off, it may prove the saying is true; your front list (current books) sell your back list, as Skating at Somerset House and New Year at The Ritz came out in early December. Crazy, Undercover, Love can be bought over on Amazon for only 99p here http://www.amazon.co.uk/product-reviews/B00IM3XEKA but is also available from Kobo, Nook and other e-tailers.

Crazy Undercover Love Cover

In other news, I will be taking part in the second virtual Romance Festival ’15 during this weekend Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th February. It’s organised by HarperCollins and Harlequin Mills & Boon and features an author development day on Saturday (including for aspiring authors) and a programme for readers and celebrating romance on Sunday, including Q&A’s with authors, Facebook events, Twitter feeds etc You can register here https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/romance-festival-2015-tickets-15326821937 and tickets are free 🙂 The Twitter hashtag is #Romance15 and the website is here https://romancefestival.wordpress.com/  I’ll be doing an author Q&A and a blog post and getting involved in some of the Fb events and Twitter feeds. I’m also planning to post here about my top ten romantic reads. If you’re an author, aspiring or published, or someone who loves reading romance, why not join in?

Romance festival

Final thought for the day; Valentine’s on Primrose Hill is due out next Monday so I’ll be stopping by with a post and an extract on the 9th. For my characters in that story, Leo and Georgiana, romance doesn’t necessarily mean hearts and flowers, but being able to be themselves with each other. So what does romance mean to you?

Until next time, happy reading and writing.

Love, Nikki x

Leave a Reply

