Shortlist announced for national award recognising new writers | News | The Romantic Novelists’ Association

I’m so thrilled to be able to share this news (I’ve been sitting on it for a few months now). Some of you will know that I’m a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and that my debut novel Crazy, Undercover, Love which was published by HarperImpulse last year went through the New Writers Scheme (a probationary membership allowing you to attend networking events and conferences, meet agents, publishers and other authors and most valuably to receive a manuscript critique).

Well… Crazy, Undercover, Love is on the shortlist for the Joan Hessayon Award!! This is for new writers whose debut novel has gone through the critique stage of the NWS. I’m ultra excited because there are so many talented authors on the shortlist, including some lovely fellow HarperImpulse ladies Brigid Coady, Kathy Jay, Caroline Roberts and Jules Wake. The award winner will be announced at the RNA Summer Party in London on 21 May, and I’ve already bought a new dress for my jaunt to the capital! I don’t expect to win but it’s fab to be on the shortlist and makes all the hours of grinding work at the laptop worth it 🙂 (But of course I equally get a thrill when readers or bloggers get in touch to tell me they enjoyed the book).

Here’s the press release with more info:

Shortlist announced for national award recognising new writers | News | The Romantic Novelists’ Association.

And the shortlist author/book gallery:

http://www.romanticnovelistsassociation.org/activities/photo_gallery/category/2015_joan_hessayon_awards_the_nominees

A massive thank you to the Romantic Novelists Association, especially those members who organised or were readers for the New Writers Scheme, my publishers / the fab team at HarperImpulse (especially my lovely, supportive editor Charlotte), as well as my family, friends, readers and bloggers … As you can tell I’m very happy and excited today 🙂

More news soon, until then…

Happy Reading and Writing,

Love Nikki x 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Shortlist announced for national award recognising new writers | News | The Romantic Novelists’ Association

Leave a Reply

