New Release; Shirley Valentine Goes to Vegas by Michelle Betham

ShirleyValentine Goes to Vegas Cover image

Today I’m thrilled to be joined by my fellow HarperImpulse author Michelle Betham, to talk about her new release Shirley Valentine Goes to Vegas (her fifth book with them). The ebook is released tomorrow with the paperback available from November 19th.

Here’s her Bio…

Michelle is an ex-media technician turned author of hot, edgy, gritty romance, usually involving rock stars, sports stars, and bikers. But not usually all in the same book. Yet. She is both self-published and published through HarperImpulse, a division of HarperCollins Publishers.

Addicted to binge-watching TV dramas she struggles to think of a life before Netflix, loves rock music, tattoos, spicy food, and Keanu Reeves – a crush that’s lasted over twenty years, and one she blames entirely on ‘Point Break’…

Her dream is to ride a Harley. And visit Las Vegas. And be able to eat any amount of chocolate without putting on weight…

She lives in County Durham, north-east England, with her husband and West Highland Terrier, where she can be found most days drinking tea and making up stories.

And the Blurb…

Shirley Valentine meets Sons of Anarchy in this raunchy, red-hot read!

Lana Saunders is on a mission to find the ‘new Lana’, the real Lana. After twenty years spent as a prim and proper businessman’s wife, she’s finally swapped beige cotton for black leather, and cardigans for tattoo sleeves! With the ink only just dry on her divorce papers, she’s ready to live it up in Vegas.

What she doesn’t expect is to meet wickedly sexy biker, Eddie, and is shocked when he asks her out. Not only does he send her sex-starved libido into overdrive, but the connection between them is unlike anything she’s ever experienced. So when Eddie asks her to stay with him in Vegas, the desire to fall into this gorgeous man’s bed and stay there forever is too tempting to ignore!

Living with Eddie in Las Vegas is the most fun Lana’s had in years—especially when he shows her there’s more than one way to ride a Harley!—but soon she realises she can’t ignore her old life forever, particularly when her ex, Adam shows up determined to win her back!

Author Michelle Betham gives Jackie Collins a run for her money in SHIRLEY VALENTINE GOES TO VEGAS, a story about what happens when you realise life isn’t what you thought it would be…

Q. This book sounds like a lot of fun Michelle, and I can’t wait to read it. Can you tell us a bit more? Is it part of a series or a stand-alone book? Have you got plans for a follow up? What inspired this book?

A. This book is a stand-alone novel. I don’t have plans for a follow up at this moment in time. But, in my opinion, there is scope for a follow-up there. I don’t think any story is ever complete… Saying that, though, there are NO cliffhangers in this book!

In terms of inspiration; well, first and foremost, I have a huge fascination with Las Vegas, so setting a book there seemed like the obvious choice. I’ve also got a huge fascination with the biker scene – although I’ve never actually ridden a motorbike (but I want to!), I love everything about those machines, and especially Harley Davidsons, so it was great to be able to have a super-sexy biker as one of the main characters – and a biker who owns TWO Harleys!

But what really inspired this book was my belief that it’s never too late to change your life. Never too late to go out there and grab what it is you really want. It’s never too late to do anything… as Lana is about to find out…

Q. Sounds exciting! So, how long did it take to write this book, and when do you write?

A. It took about three months to write, including the countless read-throughs I had to give it before I deemed it good enough to send over to my editor! That’s about an average length of time for me, to be honest. Although, I have written a book in six weeks before…

I’m lucky enough to be able to write full-time, so I’m usually at the desk by about 9.20/10am and I write until about 5pm. Sometimes I’ll squeeze a little bit in early evening, but it’s usually a 9-5 thing for me. And, for some reason, I seem to write better – and get much more done – in the morning. No idea why.

Q. Wow, that’s quick! Good for you. I seem to write much better quality stuff at night. Lastly, can you please tell us one interesting fact about the book, yourself or any research you did for this book?

 A. Just like Lana, the main female character in the book, one of my arms is now sporting a rather large “statement” tattoo. Lana took the plunge and got herself “inked” as a way of marking her new beginning, and I’ve kind of done the same. Although, my new beginning is a lot less drastic than Lana’s! But I WAS undertaking a new beginning, of sorts, as I was writing this book – I’ve lost three stone in weight, my attitude towards a lot of things has changed and, of course, I’m now quite visibly tattooed! And that in itself has given me more confidence than I could ever have imagined.

Tattoos are something else I’ve been constantly fascinated with – and I think the minute I started writing about Lana’s foray into the world of body art I knew I was going to take the plunge and finally get some of my own. I already had a small cross on my upper right arm, but I wanted something bigger. Something MUCH bigger! And, in a spectacular display of perfect timing, my brand new tattoo will finally be finished – after four sessions – by the time the book comes out on September 10th! I suppose you could call it a little bit of life imitating (body) art!

Amazing – I’ve seen the pictures of your tattoo on Facebook, and it’s really impressive (it puts the small tattoo on my lower back to shame)! Good luck with this book – I hope it does well and thanks for stopping in.

authorpic

You can (pre) order ‘Shirley Valentine Goes to Vegas’ from the following outlets:-

Amazon – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Shirley-Valentine-Vegas-Michelle-Betham-ebook/dp/B01222DBCC/ref=sr_1_16?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1437489960&sr=1-16

Kobo – https://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/shirley-valentine-goes-to-vegas

Nook – http://www.nook.com/gb/ebooks/shirley-valentine-goes-to-vegas-by-michelle-betham/9780008119430

Sainsbury’s – https://www.sainsburysentertainment.co.uk/ebooks/Shirley-Valentine-Goes-to-Vegas/Michelle-Betham/9780008119430

Google Play – https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Michelle_Betham_Shirley_Valentine_Goes_to_Vegas?id=5YszCgAAQBAJ&hl=en_GB

You can find out more about Michelle via her website michellebetham.co.uk or her blog http://michellebethamwriter.blogspot.co.uk/ or you can contact her via Twitter @michellebetham or over on FaceBook on  https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMichelleBetham

Hope you enjoyed finding out about Michelle’s new release. I’ll be back soon.

Until then, happy reading and writing,

Love, Nikki x

4 thoughts on “New Release; Shirley Valentine Goes to Vegas by Michelle Betham

Leave a Reply

