New Release; Her Hometown Redemption by Rachel Brimble

Hello my lovelies,

Today I’d like to welcome the lovely Rachel Brimble (and fellow Romantic Novelists Association member) to the blog to talk about her newest release for Harlequin. So here’s a bit about her…

Rachel Brimble writes mainstream romance and romantic suspense for Harlequin Superromance and Victorian romance for eKensington/Lyrical Press. When she isn’t writing she likes to read, knit, watch far too many US dramas and walk the beautiful countryside where she lives near Bath.

Me & Mr B - Venice 2015

Q. Can you please tell us about your newest release?

A. Sure! This is the fifth book in my Harlequin Templeton Cove series (although all the books can be read stand alone) and is called Her Hometown Redemption. It was released on 1st September 2015 by the Harlequin SuperRomance imprint and is a second chance/reunion romance. Here’s the blurb:

She’s back to right her wrongs.

When Tanya Todd returns to Templeton Cove, she knows better than to expect a warm welcome. She burned a few bridges on her way out of town, and making amends won’t be easy. First on her list is the man whose heart she carelessly shattered, Liam Browne. 

Seeing the successful criminal lawyer after all these years, Tanya is interested in more than just Liam’s forgiveness. As they work together to bring the man who hurt her sister to justice, the attraction between them sizzles. Suddenly Tanya’s second chance could include a future with Liam… if she can prove she’s changed.

Cover

Q. Sounds really intriguing! Have you got plans for a follow up?

A. Yes! I am happy to say that I have just signed a new three book contract with Harlequin for more books in the series. This small UK seaside town is proving popular with my readers, which is fantastic!

Q. That’s great to hear 🙂 I have noticed a trend recently for readers loving series, or books with strong community settings. Can you tell us something about your writing process? What inspired this book? How long did it take to write, and when do you write?

A. I am lucky enough to be able to write full-time around my husband and two teenage daughters. I have a strict regime of working from 8.30am to 5.30pm (with an hour for lunch) five days a week and then as much as family time allows on the weekends.

It takes me approximately 6 months to write my books from planning to final draft – I usually start with character sketches for my hero and heroine (and villain if I have one), then I write a 3-4 page synopsis before diving into the first draft without looking back. The hard part comes in the following drafts!

Q. Oh, you’re living the dream! One day I hope to write full-time 🙂 I’m pretty similar to you in that I get the ‘dirty draft’ (first draft) down as quickly as possible, and then spend numerous drafts polishing it until it shines.

So, lastly can you share one interesting fact about the book, yourself or any research you did for this book?

A. Hmm, this is a difficult one – I suppose the one interesting fact about me is a lot of people interested in my career often ask whether or not I have a English or creative writing degree. I don’t. I left school at 16 and worked in a bank for ten years before pursuing my writing career. I am entirely self-taught…with the help of some great online and residential courses.

Well, it just goes to show that passion and hard work count for a lot… I don’t have a creative writing degree either, having left college after getting my A’ Levels (which included double English). I did go back to education to get two HR qualifications, but with the writing, it was more about workshops, critiques and lots of practice!

Thank you for stopping in and chatting Rachel, and good luck with the book.

Thanks for having me, Nikki.

You can buy or pre-order Her Hometown Redemption at:

Amazon UK – http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00Z71DPD6

Amazon US – https://amzn.com/B00SVP8AEO

Barnes & Noble –  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/her-hometown-redemption-rachel-brimble/1121122576

You can find out more about Rachel at http://www.rachelbrimble.com or via https://twitter.com/RachelBrimble or https://www.facebook.com/rachelbrimbleauthor

Hope you enjoyed hearing about Rachel’s newest release. I’m off to the Love Stories Awards (where Valentine’s on Primrose Hill has been short listed for Best Short Romance) and the RNA Winter Party in London later this week, so I’ll drop in to share some pictures and gossip from those soon!

Until next time, happy reading and writing.

Love, Nikki x

3 thoughts on “New Release; Her Hometown Redemption by Rachel Brimble

Leave a Reply

