Delivering My First Writing Workshop!

PurbeckLitFest

Hello my lovelies,

I was very excited (and yes, I’ll admit a little nervous too) to deliver my first writing workshop recently. I was lucky enough to be joined by award winning multi-published author Sue Moorcroft, who (again, luckily for me) also happens to be my aunt, and has been a writing tutor for many years.

I’ve delivered training in the HR day job since almost the beginning of my career, but this was the first time that my audience was a group of lovely (mostly aspiring) authors rather than a roomful of managers. It was also very different because I was talking  about writing and selling a novel rather than explaining absence management, or how to handle disciplinary issues or  conduct safer recruitment.

The course was held as part of Purbeck Literary Festival at The Limes Hotel in Swanage, which was fab and had a gorgeous view of the bay below. The owner Lyn McCulloch (also a writer) laid on an endless supply of drinks and food all day, and nothing we asked for was a problem. Thank you Lyn! 🙂

IMG_9573

Sue and I took turns delivering sessions on subjects including characterisation, genres, structure, setting, dialogue, editing and submission processes, adding to each other’s sessions with personal experiences of publishing, answering delegate questions as we went along. They were a mixed group, with some people just starting out on writing a novel, some knee deep in one and hoping to finish it off, people ready for submission, a gentleman who was self-published (non-fiction) and someone previously published by Hale. Without exception they were all eager to learn, interested in the topic and passionate about writing. Lots of notes were scribbled and opinions voiced, as well as a general consensus that the day was very good value and they’d learnt a lot. A few had come from the Midlands and further afield and there was talk of eight hour round trips (I was very impressed by the level of dedication).

I have to say that it was an absolute pleasure and that by the end of the day I was buzzing as much as the delegates seemed to be, and couldn’t wait to get back to working on my next project. I was also approached by another organisation about delivering some workshops across Dorset, so hopefully you’ll hear more from me soon – and even get to meet me 🙂

Doing the workshop made me realise how valuable it is to share knowledge and experience with like-minded people, and how useful networking is. So if you’re a budding writer or a published author who wants to spend time with other people who are passionate about writing, why not think about signing up to a course? There are plenty around, and not all of them are expensive. Come on, what have you got to lose?

I’ll pop back soon. Until then, happy reading and writing.

Love, Nikki x

 

 

6 thoughts on “Delivering My First Writing Workshop!

  1. I heard great things about the day from a friend, Nikki, and hope you’ll be running more workshops in the future. I’m meeting her next week and can’t wait to hear more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

