#SummerImpulse Readathon; The Girl Who Lied (Review)

Hello my lovelies,

hope you’re all well 🙂

SummerImpulse

I’m super excited to be taking part in the #SummerImpulse Readathon this week (started Monday 1st August) where people read and then post reviews of HarperImpulse books. More info here on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/events/311597175847176. It’s not too late to join in!

It looks like I’ll only manage to read two books over the course of the week, with everything else going on, but HarperImpulse books are fab (yes, they’re my publishers and I have to say that, but I DO genuinely mean it and some of them have been best sellers) so I’ll get quality even if I can’t do quantity.

So, to kick off my first review; I have a confession to make. I was supposed to go to sleep at around eleven last night and get up early this morning. I’m starting a new day job on Monday, so want to get back into a normal routine. My intentions were good but… unfortunately Sue Fortin’s The Girl Who Lied was just too great and I had to stay up past midnight to finish it! I really enjoyed Sue’s other books that I’ve read – The Half Truth and Closing In – but I liked this one even more. In fact, I loved it. It had that real unputdownable feel. I really liked the premise – Erin returns home after ten years away, and secrets from her teenage years slowly start to unfurl – the characterisation was spot on, the setting vivid, the family tensions believable and authentic.  I also enjoyed the romance element, but for me it fits under the broader category of women’s / psychological fiction (although I have heard Sue refer to her books as ‘Cromance’ over the years e.g. a mix of crime and romance, and this is probably just as accurate). The best thing is that Sue has a strong and engaging voice, and her writing just keeps getting better with every book.

FullSizeRender (1)

I can see why The Girl Who Lied has so many five star reviews (I’m shortly adding mine to Amazon) and is currently a best seller (huge congratulations to Sue). I’m really looking forward to Sue’s next book. Hope she doesn’t keep us waiting for too long… In the meantime, I’m going to go and read her back list…

Have you read any of Sue’s books? What do you think?

To find out more about Sue Fortin, go here https://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B00ATEEEB8 and she’s on Fb here https://www.facebook.com/sue.fortin.3

The Girl Who Lied can be bought across a number of platforms including Amazon https://www.amazon.co.uk/Girl-Who-Lied-gripping-psychological-ebook/dp/B01CH72PLU.

My second book in the #SummerImpulse readathon is Debbie Johnson’s Summer at the Comfort Food Cafe. The last book I read by her (Never Trust a Man in a Christmas Jumper) made me laugh out loud, and her latest offering has the added bonus of being set in my home county of Dorset. I started it over breakfast this morning and am enjoying it so far. I hope to post the review over the weekend, but it’s going to be a busy one, so I may be a little late!

Until then, happy reading and writing.

Love, Nikki x

Leave a Reply

