My Holiday #TBR Pile

Hello my lovelies,

hope everyone is enjoying the summer, even though it’s taken a slightly damp turn this weekend 😦

I’m very excited to be jetting off on holiday to Malta, where it’s a balmy 32C and a host of family memories await 🙂

For me, a big plus of going on holiday is lying in the sun relaxing with a good book and a cocktail or two, because as well as being passionate about writing, I’m an avid reader (actually, I think the two go hand in hand). My #TBR (To Be Read, if you’re not sure) pile is a mixture of paperbacks and ebooks this year, with both authors I’ve read many times before and some newer ones:-

IMG_0802

I’ll probably dive into Wildflower Bay by Rachael Lucas first, as this was a free book I received from Pan MacMillan in return for reading and reviewing it before the end of August. That’s not to say I’m not looking forward to reading it, because I am! I was a big fan of Rachael’s debut Sealed with a Kiss, set on the remote Scottish island of Auchenmor with some larger than life characters, and I’m looking forward to returning  there for this new story. It’s here for an eBook if you fancy reading along with me https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wildflower-Bay-Rachael-Lucas-ebook/dp/B01E4BBEGE

Paige Toon’s The One We Fell in Love With was given to me as a birthday present last month, and has a really intriguing story line about three girls in love with the same man (and just LOOK at the gorgeous cover). I discovered Paige’s books recently when I picked up The Longest Holiday, set in Florida’s Key West. Her writing is warm and witty and she really brought the characters to life, so I can’t wait to read this one. You can get the eBook here https://www.amazon.co.uk/One-We-Fell-Love-ebook/dp/B013PJVQIM.  I should also confess that I’ve downloaded Lucy in the Sky and One Perfect Summer, so this may be a Paige themed holiday…

The other paperback to go into my case will be Summer Nights at the Moonlight Hotel, set on the shores of the beautiful Lake Windermere. Jane Costello makes me laugh out loud, and every book of hers I’ve read (my favourites being The Wish List and The Nearly-Weds) leaves me with a warm, fuzzy feeling. I’m looking forward to seeing what Lauren and her friends get up to … https://www.amazon.co.uk/Summer-Nights-at-Moonlight-Hotel-ebook/dp/B01069981Q

I do love paperbacks, but one of the greatest things about the Kindle app is that I can take loads of books on holiday without worrying about my luggage allowance, so in eBook form I also have:

  • We are All Made of Stars by Rowan Coleman, which I’ve heard is brilliant and a real tear-jerker, like most of Rowan’s beautifully written tales.
  • The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan – just because she’s hilarious.
  • No Turning Back by Tracy Buchanan – I’ve never read anything by her before but was intrigued by the storyline.
  • Life or Something Like It by Annie Lyons – also a newer author for me, and I loved the concept.

Wish me luck in trying to read them all – I’ll let you know what I think. Have you read any of these books? What’s your dream holiday #TBR Pile?

See you on the other side 🙂

Until next time, Happy Reading & Writing.

Love, Nikki xx

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My Holiday #TBR Pile

Leave a Reply

