Looking for #Valentine’s Reads?

Hello my lovelies,

I hope February is bringing you lots of exciting things – personally I’m really looking forward to Spring after the frost, fog, wind and rain of the last few months!

There was a post on Facebook the other day, asking everyone what their favourite book was (To Kill a Mockingbird, in case you were wondering). It got me thinking about which of my own books is my favourite. I don’t think authors are supposed to have them – they should love all their book babies equally. However, I have always had a soft spot for my third #LoveLondon story, Valentine’s on Primrose Hill. It has a special place in my heart because the setting is so beautiful and because the main character Georgiana is so damaged, but with friendship and understanding from Leo, slowly starts to heal.

Georgiana and Leo were in my head for a long time before I wrote story down on paper (or rather, laptop). They spoke to me,  shared their hopes and dreams, and I knew they were perfect for each other. This is a modern story set in London; Leo and George are both in their twenties, have friends and family, use social media. There is a bet, a puppy, modern medicine. But it’s probably the closest I’ve ever come to writing a fairy tale, because it reminds me a little of Sleeping Beauty. I’m all for equality, and women being their own heroes, but in this case, George needs a prince’s kiss (and the love of a puppy) to bring her back to life. Here’s the blurb…

For Georgiana Dunn, life changed forever in the devastating moment that the lorry hit her car.

Scarred and scared, she’s not left the house in months.Then her mum buys her a puppy, forcing her to face the world again, walking on London’s beautiful Primrose Hill. But that doesn’t mean she’s looking forward to Valentine’s Day.

Leo devotes himself to working with children with special educational needs. In fact, he does very little else, and his friends are always telling him to get a (love) life. So when they challenge him to find a date for Valentine’s Day, and he meets a lovely but lost girl who looks like she could use a friend, he thinks he’s found the perfect solution.

But life has a way of being less than perfect … Will he be left standing on his own on the most romantic day of the year?

If you’re intrigued, you can buy it on Amazon for only 49p. It was shortlisted in the Best Short Romance category in the Love Stories Awards 2015 and has 4.8 star reviews on Amazon UK.

I also wanted to mention a little compilation of stories Be My Valentine, featuring romantic shorts by the lovely Teresa F. Morgan, Brigid Coady and yours truly. It’s just 99p on Amazon – a real steal – and has 4.7 stars. ‘Be My Valentine is a wonderful collection of romantic shorts with memorable characters and emotion rich plots,’ Jolliffe. Why not treat yourself this Valentine’s Day?

If you buy, read and like any of these stories, I would love to hear what you think… and which was your favourite 🙂

Until next time, Happy Reading & Writing.

Love, Nikki x

Leave a Reply

