Writing to Make Sense of the World

Hello my lovelies,

I know I haven’t blogged for a while but there’s something that’s been on my mind given the horrific events in Manchester and London. Sometimes it is difficult to accept that this is the world we live in. So, how do we make sense of it all? 

Those recent events have been shocking and saddening, and have also caused widespread anger and outrage. Many of us will have had dark moments when we’ve thought, ‘What’s the point, if bad things can happen to good people?’ I don’t have any problem admitting that I’ve struggled to understand why people do the things they do, why terrorists feel justified in carrying out these acts, and after the tragedy of Grenfell Tower, why life can be so fragile and unfair. Of course it’s not just the UK that’s affected by these types of incidents; every day there are reports of tragedies across the globe and I feel for every person who has been affected.

I watch the news every morning before work, and the vast majority of it is negative. It would be easier to switch the TV off; to pretend it’s not happening. But this is our reality, and personally, I feel duty bound to face it. I know that won’t be everyone’s approach – and I’m not saying it has to be. Everyone has a right to make their own choices.

So how do we make sense of it all? For me, the answer is simple. However we can, and in the best way that we can, but  most of all together. It’s going to be a little different for us all. Some people will keep their emotions inside, some will speak openly, some will raise awareness or money, some will keep quietly going on with their lives. For me, the important thing is that we do keep going. Even if we feel the walls are crumbling down around us, we get up and we keep building. We are kind to each other and we support each other. What has struck me about the recent events is the human courage and compassion that has been shown; the communities that have banded together and the support from other nations. That is important, that is what makes us who we are. That is what makes us human.

So how do I deal with these things?

Well, a few weeks ago, a friend came to see me. She’s going through something really tough at the moment; something I went through a few years ago. At the time, it was painful and brutal. I had to focus my energies on just taking it one day at a time. I did that, and I got through it. When I look back now, it was pretty awful, but it has made me more resilient. My friend wanted to talk about my experience; she wanted to understand how I made it to the other side. As I shared my feelings and thoughts with her, something twigged. She wanted to make sense of what was happening to her, and she needed a human connection. Anyone who knows me, knows I am a talker. Thinking about it, talking is the way I seek reassurance and share what I’ve learnt with others. It’s how I connect with people.

But I’ve realised that as well as writing because I love spinning stories and creating my own worlds,  I also write to make sense of the world. If I can write about something, pick it apart and put it back together, I find it easier to understand. When I share my writing with others, I am reaching out to make a human connection, to see if what I have to say resonates with someone else. It’s one of the reasons I will keep writing, and buying notepads to fill with words, thoughts and feelings.

In a way, this post is me trying to make sense of the world, and reaching out to others. One thing is for sure –  however vulnerable we feel and however much uncertainty there is in the world, we must never stop opening our hearts to others. Who wants to join me?

Until next time, happy reading and writing.

Love Nikki x

 

Leave a Reply

